For the correct representation and functionality of our website you need JavaScript. Here you can find the instruction to configure JavaScript.
continue

The Hotel

A mere stone's throw from the Paradeplatz, Zurich's bustling financial district, the Baur au Lac serenely commands a privileged position in its own landscaped park, between the lake and the Schanzengraben.

The Baur au Lac Story

173 yeaRs of Tradition

The Baur au Lac, internationally renowned as one of the world's top luxury hotels, an establishment steeped in 173 years of tradition, has been owned by the same family for six generations.

Being one of the world's oldest luxury hotels still in the ownership of its founding family the Baur au Lac represents modernity and progressivity at the same time. Over the last decades, some 160 million Swiss francs have been invested in new facilities and renovations at the Baur au Lac.

 

Learn more about the Baur au Lac

Our Historical Heritage

  • Memories of a place

    Journey through time
    Journey through time

    Memories of a place

    Journey through time

    Over almost two centuries, the Baur au Lac has witnessed the birth of our modern world. Travel with us trough time.

    Start exploring
  • Pioneers and Trailblazers

    1844
    Pioneers and Trailblazers

    Pioneers and Trailblazers

    1844
    The Opening

    In 1844 – with, Louis Philippe still on the French throne and the leisurely Biedermeier era drawing to a close – Johannes Baur complemented the urban hotel he already ran by opening an establishment commanding a view of the lake and the mountains, a noble hostelry for aristocratic and other eminent guests who traveled incognito. Initially little more than an outsize villa and offshoot of the Baur en Ville, the Baur au Lac nevertheless underwent a series of extensions which gradually, by 1898, swelled to the full physical stature of the edifice today.

  • Royals and rulers

    1867
    Royals and rulers

    Royals and rulers

    1867
    New “home” in Zurich

    The Baur au Lac provided Europe's nobility and aristocracy with a new “home” in Zurich. Some of the most powerful people in the world considered the Baur au Lac the leading address in Switzerland. In addition to King Ludwig I of Bavaria, the King Carl XVI of Sweden, the Queen Sonja of Norway and the Emperor I. Haile Selassie of Ethiopia, Empress Elisabeth of Austria, better known as Sissi, together with all her retinue, were just a few of the regular guests. Sissi’s first visit to the Baur au Lac dates from 1867. Although it was out of season, the hotel was specially opened for her.

  • From the belle epoques to the roaring twenties

    1926
    From the belle epoques to the roaring twenties

    From the belle epoques to the roaring twenties

    1926
    Triumph on the Klausen

    Merely setting the pace in the hotel business was obviously not enough. In 1926, Hermann Kracht (4th generation owner) also won the Swiss road-racing championship. The headline from the sports newspaper lists the results of the Fifth International Klausen Race in 1926. First place in the sports car category went to one Dr. Karrer, piloting a Bugatti, while Hermann Kracht – also in a Bugatti – was first across the line in the racing car category.

  • From Jiving to surviving

    1942
    From Jiving to surviving

    From Jiving to surviving

    1942
    World War II

    In Zurich the front lawn of the Baur au Lac was transformed into a potatoe field. This clearly shows how important it was for everyone to pull together and make sacrifices to get through the hard times. And thus, the hotel never went short of potatoes for ist wartime menus; although most of the crop was used for the hotel guests and staff, the surplus was given to local people in need, who could not afford the high prices such foods fetched on the black market.

  • Looking to the future

    2014
    Looking to the future

    Looking to the future

    2014
    Anniversary

    In 2014, the Baur au Lac celebrated its 170th anniversary, affirming its place as one of the world's oldest 5-star hotels still owned by its founding family – now in its sixth generation. The aim is to combine tradition and modernity, while preserving the special family character of the house, in order to continue writing history.

Baur au Lac RGB JMM 6727

Personal service

For many generations, the Baur au Lac has been regarded as the leading address Switzerland’s biggest city for the world’s most discerning clientele.
The elegance and comfort of its rooms and suites, as well as its exceptional service, have shaped its renown.

We urge you to take advantage of what we have to offer. And we urge you particularly to be indulged by our concierge team, guaranteeing that your
visit will be more special than you could ever have imagined.

Learn more about our services

Impressions

Baur au Lac RGB JMM 8088

Photo Gallery

Pictures say more than 1000 words.
Discover the Baur au Lac gallery.  

Gallery

Virtual Tour

Experience the Baur au Lac on a virtual tour through the hotel.

 

Virtual Tour

Videos

Lean back and take a look at our 
unique #bauraulacmoments.

 

Watch our #bauraulacmoments


 

  • Front Office Team

    Personal consultation

    Book direct with us

    We are more than happy to advise you and help you customize your perfect stay with us. Feel free to contact the reservation department with any questions concerning our room categories or special wishes for your stay. 

  • Laurent Eperon Teaser

    Restaurant Pavillon

    Rewarded Cuisine

    The Pavillon and Laurent Eperon have received 1 star by Guide Michelin and 18 GaultMillau points. The Pavillon, Baur au Lac’s recently refurbished restaurant, features fresh and modern cuisine within an environment that effortlessly fuses contemporary and classic style.

  • Bankett

    Download brochure

    Banquet brochure

    The elegant ambience of the tradition-steeped hotel in the heart of Zurich offers a setting for any kind of event. Business meetings, glamorous parties or romantic wedding celebrations – the Baur au Lac will spoil you and your guests in the midst of a thoroughly staged atmosphere. We offer seven different, stylish locations for this purpose.

Pour assurer une représentation et une fonctionnalité correcte de notre site web, vous avez besoin de JavaScript. Vous pourrez trouver ici les instructions afin de configurer JavaScript.
continuer

Hôtel

A deux pas de la Paradeplatz, quartier financier animé de Zurich, le Baur au Lac occupe une position privilégiée dans son parc paysager, entre le lac et le Schanzengraben.

L'histoire de Baur au Lac

173 ans de tradition

Le Baur au Lac, reconnu internationalement comme l'un des plus grands hôtels de luxe au monde, est un établissement de 173 ans de tradition, qui appartient à la même famille depuis six générations. Un mélange intéressant de personnel expérimenté et de personnes plus jeunes nous permet néanmoins de combiner la continuité et la tradition dans une vision très moderne, un environnement de travail harmonieux et un travail d'équipe familial.

 

En savoir plus sur le Baur au Lac

Notre patrimoine historique

  • Souvenirs d'un lieu

    Voyage dans le temps
    Voyage dans le temps

    Souvenirs d'un lieu

    Voyage dans le temps

    Pendant presque deux siècles, le Baur au Lac a assisté à la naissance du monde moderne. Rejoignez-nous dans notre voyage dans le temps.

    Démarrez la découverte
  • Pionniers et Précurseurs

    1844
    Pionniers et Précurseurs

    Pionniers et Précurseurs

    1844
    L'ouverture

    En 1844, avec Louis Philippe encore sur le trône de France et la paisible époque de Biedermeier touchant à sa fin, Johannes Baur compléta l'hôtel urbain qu'il tenait déjà en ouvrant un établissement avec vue sur le lac et les montagnes, un noble établissement destiné aux aristocrates et autres éminents clients qui ont voyageaient incognito. Initialement à peine plus grand qu'une grande villa et une ramification du Baur en Ville, le Baur au Lac subit une série d'extensions qui augmentèrent progressivement son volume, pour atteindre vers 1898 la stature physique de l'édifice d'aujourd'hui.

  • Familles royales et chefs de gouvernement

    1867
    Familles royales et chefs de gouvernement

    Familles royales et chefs de gouvernement

    1867
    Une nouvelle "maison" à Zurich

    Le Baur au Lac offrait à la noblesse et à l'aristocratie européennes un nouveau "chez soi" à Zurich. Certains parmi les plus puissants de ce monde considèraient le Baur au Lac comme l'adresse la plus luxueuse en Suisse. En plus du roi Louis Ier de Bavière, du roi Charles XVI de Suède, de la reine Sonja de Norvège et de l'empereur Haile Selassie d'Éthiopie, l'impératrice Elisabeth d'Autriche, plus connue sous le nom de Sissi, ainsi que tout son cortège, n'étaient que quelques-uns des invités réguliers. La première visite de Sissi au Baur au Lac date de 1867. Même si c'était hors saison, l'hôtel fut spécialement ouvert pour elle.

  • De la belle époque aux années folles

    1926
    De la belle époque aux années folles

    De la belle époque aux années folles

    1926
    Trimphe sur la Klausen

    Simplement s'imposer dans le secteur de l'hôtellerie de luxe ne suffisait pas. En 1926, Hermann Kracht (propriétaire de la 4ème génération) remporta également le championnat suisse de course sur route. Le titre du journal sportif répertorie les résultats de la course Fifth International Klausen Race en 1926. La première place dans la catégorie des voitures de sport fut attribuée à un Dr Karrer, aux commandes d'une Bugatti, alors que Hermann Kracht, également dans une Bugatti - fut le premier à franchir la ligne d'arrivée dans la catégorie automobile de course.

  • De la danse à la survie

    1942
    De la danse à la survie

    De la danse à la survie

    1942
    La Seconde Guerre mondiale

    A Zurich, la pelouse de devanture du Baur au Lac fut transformée en champ de pommes de terre. Cela illustre bien le besoin de se serrer les coudes et de faire des sacrifices pour surmonter ces moments difficiles. Ainsi, l'hôtel n'a jamais manqué de pommes de terre pour les menus en temps de guerre ; et bien que la plupart des cultures aient été utilisées pour les clients et le personnel de l'hôtel, l'excédent était donnée aux habitants dans le besoin, qui ne pouvaient pas les moyens de se payer la nourriture aux prix qu'elle atteignait au marché noir.

  • Regarder vers l'avenir

    2014
    Regarder vers l'avenir

    Regarder vers l'avenir

    2014
    Anniversaire

    En 2014, le Baur au Lac a célébré son 170e anniversaire, affirmant sa place comme l'un des plus anciens hôtels 5 étoiles au monde encore détenu par à sa famille fondatrice, maintenant dans sa sixième génération. L'objectif est de combiner tradition et modernité, tout en préservant le caractère familial spécial de la maison, afin de continuer à écrire l'histoire.

Baur au Lac RGB JMM 6727

Service personnel

Depuis de nombreuses générations, le Baur au Lac est considéré comme l'adresse privilégiée de la plus grande ville de Suisse pour la clientèle la plus exigeante du monde.
L'élégance et le confort de ses chambres et suites, ainsi que son service exceptionnel, sont à l'origine de sa renommée.

Nous vous invitons à profiter de tout ce que nous avons à offrir. Et nous vous invitons chaleureusement à faire appel à notre équipe de conciergerie, qui veillera à ce que votrevisite soit plus spéciale encore que vous ne l'auriez jamais imaginé.

En savoir plus sur nos services

Impressions

Baur au Lac RGB JMM 8088

Galerie photo

Découvrez la galerie photo Baur au Lac.

 

Galerie

Visite virtuelle

Découvrez le Baur au Lac dans une visite virtuelle à travers l'hôtel.

Visite virtuelle

Vidéos

Découvrez le Baur au Lac depuis le point de vue d'un réalisateur de cinéma.

#bauraulacmoments