For the correct representation and functionality of our website you need JavaScript. Here you can find the instruction to configure JavaScript.

Bee au Lac

28.02.2017

A warm welcome to our more than 80,000 new habitants. 

6

The Baur au Lac now has four new beehives in residence on the property. Our Apis mellifera carnica bees are a gentle subspecies of the traditional Western honeybee (Apis mellifera).

The hive began with 20,000 bees, including their queen and about 1,000 male bees (drones) and grows in number every day. Since the time of well-known nobles such as Empress Sisi and Imperial Wilhelm II, royal delegates have repeatedly chosen to lodge at the Baur au Lac and the tradition is now going to be continued with four new ‘queens.’

7

Welcome to your new home!

Behind the walls of the mini Baur au Lac, there certainly are not 80,000 rooms and suites, but rather boxes in which numerous honeycombs made of wax are hanging.

The honeycombs are both nursery and storage space. The young bees grow up in the honeycombs, and honey, as well as pollen, is stored there. Our five-star bees are enjoying their exclusive site, located in the middle of the garden and with a view of Lake Zurich right in the center of town.

6

Baur au lac Honey

This summer, after the first crop, our guests will be able to enjoy our homemade honey at the breakfast buffet or buy it as a souvenir at our shop.

Honey from the city enjoys the distinction of having less pesticide and fungicide. Compared to honey from the countryside, where there are many more monocultures, the honey from the Baur au Lac will have a more multi-faceted taste. The Baur au Lac is the first hotel in Zurich to have its own bee colony, and we are very proud to welcome our new employees in their black-yellow uniforms.

Pour assurer une représentation et une fonctionnalité correcte de notre site web, vous avez besoin de JavaScript. Vous pourrez trouver ici les instructions afin de configurer JavaScript.

Bee au Lac

28.02.2017

Nous souhaitons la bienvenue aux 80 000 nouvelles habitantes.

6

Désormais, le Baur au Lac possède quatre ruches d'abeilles, installées sur la propriété. Nos abeilles Apis mellifera carnica sont une sous-espèce délicate de la traditionnelle abeille à miel occidentale (Apis mellifera).

La ruche a commencé avec 20.000 abeilles, dont la reine et environ 1.000 abeilles mâles (faux bourdons), et voit sa population s'agrandir de jour en jour. Depuis l'époque des nobles bien connus tels que l'impératrice Siisi et l'empereur Guillaume II, les familles royales ont choisi à plusieurs reprises de loger au Baur au Lac, tradition qui va désormais se poursuivre avec quatre nouvelles «reines».

7

Bienvenue dans votre nouvelle demeure!

Derrière les murs du mini Baur au Lac, il n'y a certainement pas 80.000 chambres et suites, mais plutôt des boîtes dans lesquelles pendent de nombreux nids d'abeille en cire.

Les alvéoles servent à la fois de nurserie et d'espace de stockage. Les jeunes abeilles grandissent dans les alvéoles, et le miel, ainsi que le pollen, y est stocké. Nos abeilles cinq étoiles bénéficient d'un emplacement exclusif, au milieu du jardin et avec une vue sur le lac de Zurich, en plein cœur de la ville.

6

Miel Baur au lac

Cet été, après la première récolte, nos clients pourront déguster notre miel maison au buffet du petit-déjeuner, ou l'acheter en souvenir dans notre boutique.

Le miel de la ville se distingue des autres car contient moins de pesticides et de fongicides. Comparé au miel de la campagne, où il y a beaucoup plus de monocultures, le miel du Baur au Lac aura un goût plus riche, aux multiples facettes. Le Baur au Lac est le premier hôtel de Zurich à avoir sa propre colonie d'abeilles, et nous sommes très fiers d'accueillir nos nouvelles collaboratrices dans leur uniforme noir-jaune.